This one’s for Mrs. Patton.

1. The first rule is to post these rules.
2. Post a photo of yourself and 11 things about yourself/your life .
3. Answer the questions set for you in the original post.
4. Create 11 new questions and tag people to answer them.
5. Go to their blog/twitter and tell them that you’ve tagged them.

I'm the one in the middle with crazy eyes.

Eleven Things About Myself

  1. I’ve always been a big fan of divulging too much information about myself and putting other people in situations where they are awkwardly inclined to reciprocate.
  2. I’m having a bad self-conscious week, nay month and I’m getting married at the end of the month. All I can think about is how I’m going to look like a chubby lesbian in my wedding photos, awesome. This has not stopped me from eating marshmallow peeps and girl scout cookies by the handful at work every.day.for.weeks.
  3. I find myself wanting two things recently: time off from work/life with a toddler to spend doing nothing or drinking on patios, OR have another baby, which would mean basically not allowing myself any other the other things mentioned previously, for 2-3+ years. Two HUGELY DIFFERENT things.
  4. Most days I love everything about my job, because I do such fun things there. In the same day, hour or minute that I think that thought to myself, I can find myself wanting to run away screaming at the top of my lungs from the library. Usually this is prompted by children lying to me.
  5. I won’t TOUCH anything with ranch dressing or mayonnaise on it, ever. No you can’t “scrape it off” that’s disgusting, I still know it’s been there.
  6. If I don’t write a book before I die, I will consider myself a failure at my life.
  7. My bed must be made before I lie in it. Lay upon it, whatever.
  8. We don’t have a yard, but we have three parks within walking distance. If the weather is nice, we are at a park. We usually enjoy “picnic” carryout of some kind and I put my kid to bed sweaty and covered in dirt sometimes. He is happy.
  9. I keep clothes entirely too long. I get an emotional attachment to certain things. I just went through my closet ten minutes ago and didn’t throw away a tube top because I remember a night I wore that and we all went skinny dipping after going out. Yea.
  10. I find that my kid understands a lot more than I probably think he does, most of the time. We have conversations now, and that scares the crap out of me because I know that means that what I say matters now.
  11. I spent a good portion of the evening looking at my house through the window of our front porch. Partly because it was a beautiful evening, and partly because I couldn’t bring myself to clean up the mess. “How could that be my house?” I thought to myself.
1. age? 33, to be 34 in August a day before my son’s birthday, PARTY!
2. dream job? I am one of those people lucky enough to say, being a librarian is pretty much my dream job. If I could tweak the schedule, possibly the pay and maybe do some writing it would be perfection.
3. favorite blog? Too broad of a question. My favorite person’s blog who regularly (and thankfully) updates is Miss Grace over at Camp Patton. I appreciate the reality of her blogspace. I have recently started following some others that I skim for good ideas:  All For the Boys, and for humor sake, and because I like to pretend that we’re friends: Blabbermouse
4. favorite recipe? My recipes aren’t necessarily healthful and are more about convenience. I’ll share my two standbys:
Asian Cabbage Salad
 4 TBLSP Sunflower Seeds
1/2 Cp Slivered  almonds
1/2 head cabbage Chopped( I use the coleslaw bagged cabbage w/carrots)
4 green onions chopped
1 pkg chicken oriental Ramen Pride Noodles
Dressing
2TBLSP Sugar(I use splenda)
1 TSP Salt
3TBLSP Vinegar (white is better)
1/2 Cp Oil (i usually use Olive)
1/2 tsp pepper
1 seasoning packet from Ramen noodles
 Mix nuts, sunflower seeds, onions, cabbage, and dressing Break up noodle and add just before serving. YOU MAY DOUBLE THIS RECIPE AND GET GOOD RESULTS.  Enjoy !!
and laden with preservatives galore, I sometimes use all canned items in this one:
Black Bean Soup (good alternative to chili when you’re chili’d out)
Ingredients
1 bag of frozen corn
1 can of black beans
1 can of black bean soup (or another cup of black beans, sometimes I have a hard time finding black bean soup so I just use two cans of beans instead)
1/2 jar of salsa
1 smoked sausage (looks like kielbasa)
Onion/green paper (optional)
Cumin/paprika (optional)
Shredded cheese (taco) optionalSlice up sausage, throw in crock pot
Put half a jar of salsa in that bitch.
Toss in small bag of frozen corn.
toss in some green peppers and onions, if you like them.
Open one can of black beans, rinse and drain in a collander in the sink, then toss those in the crock pot too
Pour in can of black bean soup
sprinkle some spices like cumin and paprika, salt and pepper, if you like.Cook on low for 6-8 hours. Most smoked sausages are already cooked and the canned stuff is safe to eat so really it’s just until you think it smells delicious enough to eat. Scoop out a bowl and sprinkle some cheese on top.

5. favorite book? I always say Prince of Tides by Pat Conroy, but I’ve yet to re-read it like I’ve wanted to for years. I just remember reading it in my car and weeping.
6. one piece or two piece swimsuit? I do not own a one piece, and I need to do that. My problem is I’ve always had a flat(tish) stomach and big thighs/butt. So one pieces tend to not be all that flattering. Hell, maybe nothing is.
7. most embarrassing moment? I kicked myself in the face cheerleading at my first Varsity Wrestling match, and knocked myself down on my back, and knocked the wind out of myself.
8. pet(s)? if yes, name(s)? No pets, though I will eventually win the I Want a Cat War with Gabe, someday.
9. specific makeup item you couldn’t live without? mascara and eyebrow pencil. If I’m not wearing mascara, people ask me if I’m sick. My eyelashes and eyebrows are white. WHITE.
10. favorite song of the moment? I couldn’t tell you the last time I heard a new song. All songs are new to me these days because when I am in my car, and can listen to music, I’m so tired of hearing people (and myself) talk that I just listen to silence.
11. weekend plans? This weekend I’m working while Simon and Gabe go to a birthday party for a dear friend’s two year old. Actually, I’m getting married in 11 days and I work 9 of those 11 days so GOOD LUCK TO ME!
I would love to hear other people’s answers. I am too tired to tag them. Actually, this is the fifth time I’ve opened and edited this blog post since first being tagged by Miss Grace. There’s a lot going on these days in the Simon Geig household. I’m using laziness as an excuse and just going to go with it. You know I love you bloggers, answer away. I’ll even write 11 new questions:
1. What do you WISH you were doing?
2. Someone just gifted you $20K. What do you do with it?
3. What appliance do you wish you used more often?
4. Apparently there’s some new boy band I read about in a magazine at the doctor’s office today. Explain them to me.
5. Most treasured gift receiving moment you can remember as a child and as an adult.
6. How do you manage your digital photo files?
7. Have you kept your old cds or are you switching over to all digital music?
8. When can we have coffee?
9. How much do you pay your babysitter?
10. Do you use your local library?
11. Baby names your husband/partner would never let you use:
Go.
If you don’t have a blog, email me your answers. If you’re reading this, you know my email address. XO
Leave a Reply

