Update for November 2011

I am debating on whether or not to post this now. This is the first time I’ve felt inclined to sit in front of the computer and write anything down. It’s been a tough couple of weeks. I was out of town for a conference for a few days, then worked like crazy for a week or so, and managed to get pretty sick in between. So with doctor visits and not feeling great, I’ve been trying to switch some things up in our lifestyles– be more healthy, figure out why I’ve been sick so often, etc. The doctor took about 8 vials of my blood and I’m anxious to see what the results are. Hopefully I’m not allergic to life. Or snow. Or cold. šŸ™‚

I’ve started going to the gym again, and simon seems to love it there now, which is quite motivating. He loves the toys there, and it feels so good to get moving again. With the weather starting to change over from warm fall to chilly winter, I’ve been eating a ton of sugar and can feel my pants all getting tighter, which is one of the reasons I’ve been feeling the gym bug these days. I like the idea of getting addicted to running again, but I am tired. And I am older. I hate having to “tick” the little arrows on the treadmill up to 33. 33?! I remember ticking that arrow up to 23 just not that long ago. How did that happen so fast?

At any rate, this weekend has been nice so far. We’ve been really lucky to have some absolutely gorgeous fall days with lots of sun and highs in the 60s.

I have a feeling we’ll be paying for these awesome fall days this winter with lots of snow and yuckiness I can’t stand. But until then I’m loving the extra time we get to spend at the park and on walks, so long as we do it during daylight hours. I can’t believe it’s dark at 5:30 now. I don’t know why it always comes as such a big surprise every year, but it does.

Gabe and I got TWO date nights in a row, thanks to Lisa and then to Gabe’s parents. Thursday Lisa came over and watched Simon while we went to a Pecha Kucha event, which was really cool. It was held in a warehouse in Franklinton, in conjunction with an art show. Basically (from what I could Google and figure out from attending) Pecha Kucha is an event of multiple people presenting on topics they love, are passionate about, and want to spread the word about them to others. Each participant (usually there’s 1-2 people per presentation) has 20 Powerpoint slides, and can speak about each slide for only 20 seconds. The presenters talked about everything from sustainable living, art, photography, poetry and education. I really enjoyed it, even though it was pretty cold. It was a neat thing for us to get out and do on our own.

Then last night Gabe’s parents took Simon overnight at the hotel down the street. They like to stay there so they can take him swimming, which he loves. He had a ball with them, as usual. Gabe and I went to one of our favorite places to eat, Barrio- a tapas restaurant downtown. We had a fabulous dinner. Then we went to a bar and watched the OSU basketball game and had a few drinks. While we went home to our empty house that night, I left tons of lights on, was noisy upstairs, left the basement door open and in the morning I left my coffee on the coffee table. It was nice for a minute to not have to worry about those kinds of things.

This morning we all had breakfast and I had a great time with Jan this afternoon, hitting up a craft show and then Kohls for some early Christmas shopping. Though I wanted to get a work out in, I only managed to get to the grocery and Macys after they left, though that was fine with me. Gabe’s parents gave us a rug for our living room, so I was super excited about that, since we recently switched our furniture around. Now I feel like that’s an excuse to go buy new throw pillows and spruce it up a bit. Gabe and I have also decided that we are going to ask for money towards a new television set that can be mounted on the wall for Christmas. Our current one is a big box tv, which works fine for what little we use it, but it takes up a lot of space in the room. We also moved our kitchen table out into the family room so now we can all sit around it and eat dinner. I’m looking forward to making Thanksgiving dinner and having more room in my tiny kitchen, and serving it around an actual table.

Tonight was an exceptionally tough night. Simon woke up from his nap at 5:30, and it was dark out, so he was confused I think about why he was waking up. Lots and lots of meltdowns were had. The evening ended on a sour note when he refused to brush his teeth. The deal was, I’ll read the Firetruck book if he brushed his teeth while I did it. He refused. Over and over again. So Mean Mom said “OK, no books.”

Do you have any idea how hard it is for a librarian to deny book-reading to anyone as means of punishment?! Ok so I didn’t completely deny him of the book. I gave it to him and turned the lights off, said “I love you, good night.” But still, I missed out on the book reading WITH him. But I can’t have him thinking he can just throw fits and get his way. Ugh. This part of parenting sucks. The punishment part. I don’t want to spend the little time I have with him, punishing him. Le sigh.

Anyhow, that’s the recent news with us. I will try to write his Month 27 Letter tomorrow, hopefully after we have a better day with less whining, screaming, throwing, hitting and crying.

One can hope. He is two.

20111112-234950.jpg

20111112-235048.jpg

Leave a Reply

