videos of cuteness

Simon is getting really good at signing and talking more and more. Here are some videos of us reading books together.

This first book is Baby Farm Animals, a book I remember reading when I was little. Simon really likes the horses, goggies and of course, the Apple.

This one is a noise-making farm animal book. He signs cow, horse, dog, duck and says goat. Riveting, I know.

And the grand finale- Simon’s favorite library book, Apple Farmer Annie. He signs sky and car.

Today we went on a 2 mile walk this morning before I went into work. He was SO excited to go “outside”. And suddenly, for the first time in a long time, I noticed how much bigger he is in the stroller than he was the last time the weather was nice enough to walk outside. His legs are long and fall over the side and he’s snug as a bug in there all strapped in. As we strolled through the neighborhood (and I panted as I walked up one of our many hills in Grandview “Heights”) he pointed at and signed “birds” “trees” and got REALLY excited about a beer truck. He is enamored with trucks and tractors these days.

The last few days (well week really) I thought I had reached my breaking point on several occasions. I never “lost it” in front of the boy, and I am careful not to lose my temper in general. But on a few drives into work I just kept thinking- how do people do this?! Work full time and be a good mom? It’s insane. Just recently Simon has started the very typical toddler melt-downs. And it’s just shocking. Gabe and I just stare at him and then look at each other wondering what set him off. There have been a few times when we knew what it was…so that was easy enough to figure out. But when we have no idea, it’s just….I don’t know the word– shocking. We feel like Simon has been a great communicator and just a really easy going kid. So when he gets upset and throws himself into a going-boneless type fit..it’s just such a surprise. I know it’s normal. I keep thinking that. I even did “research” on how to best handle these types of things.

I don’t want to be a yelling mom. I don’t want to spend every waking moment we’re together telling him no. But more and more I feel like I spend too much of our already limited time together telling him No. Stop. Don’t. Simon! I just don’t want to be that way. When I get an hour and a half with him at the end of the day, I don’t want to fight the whole time.

Now, the last two days have been relatively good. No major fits, just the regular ones about having to eat dinner at the table, having to NOT throw his food, cup or eating utensils on the floor, and NOT pushing every button on the DVD player and pulling them out of the player.

I’m just looking forward to two days in a row- with just my boys and nothing else pressing to do. It hasn’t helped that I’ve been a little extra stressed at work so my short fuse tends to follow me from work to home and vice versa.

So that’s all for now. It’s hard for me to get time to post much anymore, though it appears as if my laptop’s space bar has magically fixed itself, so that’s cool. I have this weird thing about wanting only to write/type/vent when I’m alone and I don’t get much of that time either these days.

Off to go enjoy some time with a few friends around the corner. I’m lucky that I get the chance to hang out with them every week or two. Non-work related adult conversation is helpful to my mental state these days. 🙂

Leave a Reply

