Trick or Treat, Smell my Feet! 2010

Thankfully I had the weekend off, so that was a nice little break to get things done. It’s funny now, people ask “what are you doing this weekend?” and my favorite reply is….”Nothing.”

I shouldn’t say “nothing” because yesterday included a big trip up to Dublin (Sawmill Rd.) Sam’s Club to stock up on diapers, wipes and an astronomical amount of trail mix and Chex mix (don’t go to Sam’s club hungry). After that we headed to a Halloween costume shop to see if we could find a hat for Simon and maybe a costume for Gabe, but all they had there were overpriced slut uniforms and weirdos. Those weird Halloween shops give me the creeps. Plus, you get a lot of odd looks when you’re wheeling a stroller through one of those stores and your kid won’t take off his Spiderman sunglasses. Haha.

We then headed over to Chili’s, and I had to laugh. We could SEE Chili’s from the Halloween storefront, so I told gabe I would just walk Simon over there in the stroller and he could take the car. And I realized soon after, that stripmalls are not meant for walking, even though many stripmalls placed alongside one another….well you would THINK there would be some way to get from Point A to Point B without having to get back in your car. I was sprinting across the road with Simon in the stroller in order to not get hit by all of the weekend shoppers and it just made me glad that we live somewhere where we can walk to go out to eat, to get coffee, heck we could even walk to the grocery and drug store.

Chili’s was good- Simon had grilled cheese (he’s a fan) and afterwards we headed up to Northwest Library to pop in for a minute and let Simon blow off some steam. I do NOT know what it is with that library, but he thinks he can just walk wherever he wants and do whatever he wants there. It’s so weird because he’s not like that at any other library we’ve been to. After a quick visit there, we packed up and headed home.

Sunday night was our Beggar’s Night in Grandview, and to prepare I went grocery shopping and to Target since our trip to the Halloween Store was a bust. I managed to find a shirt for Gabe and a hat for Simon at Target that I could fashion into props for our little costume ensemble.

Trick or Treat started at 6pm, and it was cold. Our friends Lisa and Jeremy and their baby Jack all came over to eat sloppy joes and cheesey potatoes for dinner before the festivities. And by 6, Simon was getting CRABBY. Between getting shots on Friday and also his top teeth coming in, he was a whiny mess. But I managed to get some decent pictures I think (considering):

Officer Simon.

Mr. Crankypants and his blankie- Not looking fierce or cop-like.
We've captured the thief and we're keeping him on lockdown, forever.

We only walked to our neighbors on either side of our house – so we only got two pieces of candy. Next year we hope for better luck. Maybe he’ll have more teeth by then and won’t be so cranky. 🙂

One thought on “Trick or Treat, Smell my Feet! 2010

Leave a Reply

