Days 12 & 13

Day 12 → Something you never get compliments on

Well, nobody’s ever walked up to me and complimented me on my gigantic thighs. Although I suppose I could’ve gathered as much early on, when my dad suggested (in 7th grade) that they’d considered “making your middle name Quadricep” since my legs are so ginormous. Thankfully I have that sense of humor I mentioned earlier. Anyhow, yea, thanks for reminding me, nobody compliments my nether-regions being anything other than QUITE OBVIOUSLY THERE.

Day 13 → A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days

I could go with the obvious and say Sarah Maclachlan, Tori Amos and Ani DiFranco, all who have gotten me through those times when I knew I was right and EVERYONE ELSE WAS WRONG….SO WRONG.

“Everything is timing, everything’s been said, so I’m going home with an empty head…”

Now that I’m a grown up, there are songs that I listen to for very very specific reasons. Because songs have connections to people and situations and times. And if you want to know what I’m thinking or feeling, you’ll hear me squealing into a parking spot at work blaring one of these:

Out of Habit, Ani DiFranco: I am having a bad day, or about to have a bad day, or I’m feeling nostalgic in some way…wishing for evenings with my girlfriends on the front porch of my old place on Haines Ave. chaing smoking cigarettes and laughing until my sides hurt with my sisters.

Nobody’s Gonna Break my Stride: I”m trying very hard to motivate myself into work mode.

Glee Soundtrack: I am reliving chamber choir from high school, and secretly wishing I were still in some sort of choir now, and I might be tearing up with emotion as I sing at the top of my lungs.

GirlTalk: I wish I was drunk.

Vienna Teng, Harbor: I miss my sister.

Keep Breathing: I am attempting to not freak out

Iron and Wine: I am leveling out on our soundtrack from home. I am remembering sweet moments at home with my newborn first-born baby boy. I am re-living the first moments of my life as a family I created. I am tasting the sweetness of life by listening to our soundtrack.

There are more…to be continued

Leave a Reply

