What’s in a name?

So I was thinking- whenever I talk about my mom and dad in regards to Simon, I call them Grandma and Grandpa Simon, which eventually might confuse the boy. Henceforth, I will be calling them Grandma and Grandpa Lee, since growing up I called our paternal grandparents Grandma and Grandpa George- and in fact didn’t know their last name was the same as mine until I was roughly 8 years old and went on a trip to the mailbox with Grandma George. I remember the specific moment when I realized we were actually related and she was my dad’s mom. Funny, huh.

Anyways. Since my last name is still Simon, people still call me Simon at work- which is totally fine with me and doesn’t sound weird at all…though I think it makes other people feel weird to call me Simon since I just named my baby Simon.

But anyways, the point of this post is:

With all the name confusion due to Gabe and I not being married- (hospitals apparently still operate under the antiquated assumption that all babies come from married parents) we keep receiving bills for Baby Boy Simon, Baby Simon, and yesterday– Mandy Geig.

(That was weird to see.)

None of those people live here, so I don’t think we should have to pay them.

Thoughts?

One thought on “What’s in a name?

  1. Hmm, you’ll probably be in trouble if you don’t pay them, but you can definitey write a super-cranky letter to the hospital admonishing them for not even having the courtesy to get your name right. I love complaining to large companies and organizations. It’s one of my favorite pastimes. Sometimes they even feel guilty and send you free stuff.

Leave a Reply

