Productive Monday

We got the crib put together- and mostly assembled Thumbkin’s room- though I’m still not satisfied with it so I’m not posting pics on here quite yet.  I have to admit that I only had fleeting moments where I imagined what-the-nursery-will-look-like…and those quickly passed. Mostly I stopped thinking about it because: all of that shit is insanely expensive; I don’t really want to have to re-paint the walls when we leave here; I would much prefer hand-me-down stuff to decorate a nursery and perhaps get myself a new bedspread down the road. Don’t look at me like that, the baby will not remember his nursery. AND- I lucked out and got a ton of adorable hand-me-down stuff. So it all is put together and cute and whatnot. It’s just a little…shall we say….cramped.

We put Thumbkin in the tiniest room because, in all fairness, he will be the tiniest person in the house. We made the second room into a guest room. We are both hoping that we can keep Thumbkin in that room for as long as possible- because neither of us are quite sure if we’ll ever be able to afford a house or anything bigger than this place. So- there you have it: I have a tiny little room with a lot of furniture and cute safari/jungle themed-bedding and stuff. I don’t have the walls painted and I’m not going to. And I don’t think I’m going to put his name in letters on the wall behind the crib because we’re still not settled completely on what his name will be and that’s that.

Anyways. I just keep walking into this room and I try to think of what would make it more calming/peaceful/etc. I’m not sure yet. Picture placement perhaps? I don’t know. Once I get it figured out I’ll take a picture or two and post it on here. Just don’t go thinking that I”m some sort of crazy design freak who gets all into this kind of thing. My son will have a cute looking, completely livable space to nap in and whatnot for the next few years. It just probably won’t look any fancier than my bedroom.

Once we were finished with the crib, I had G put up the tie-backs for our curtains in the living room- or what we affectionately now call the “parlor”. When people come over we end up sitting in this room for some reason and I love it. I told G to pose for me- because I think these chairs in front of the bookcase and fireplace are reminiscent of Masterpiece Theatre. I asked him to grab a book and he picked one from his own collection: The End of the World News by Anthony Burgess.

Enjoy.

img_3638

Leave a Reply

